British Embassy in Costa Rica

British nationals living or visiting Costa Rica may contact the British Embassy in Costa Rica if you have any questions about your travel documents or passport.

The British Embassy in Costa Rica is located in San José. The office is closed during public holiday.

CapitalSan José
AddressBritish Embassy San José
Edificio Centro Colón,
Paseo Colón and Streets 38 and 40
San Jose
Apartado 815 – 1007
San Jose
Costa Rica
TelephoneTelephone(506) 2258-2025
Fax(506) 2233 9938
Opening hoursMondays to Thursdays, from 08:00 to 12:00 and 12:30 to 16:00 and on Fridays from 08:00 to 13:00.

Get information about a British company from Costa Rica

You can get information about a British company from Companies House. The Companies House is the Registrar of companies in the United Kingdom. They are an executive agency sponsored by the Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy.

Ordinarily, you can get the following information for FREE about a Britsh company.

  • Company’s names and numbers
  • Current registered office address
  • Date of incorporation
  • The company directors and secretaries
  • Registered current mortgage charges
  • Company accounts filed
  • Submitted yearly confirmation statement
  • previous company names
  • Insolvency information if applicable

If you have any questions on how to get information about a British company while you are in Costa Rica, our accountants can help you.

Setting up or doing business in the UK

If you are interested to set up a UK company or do business in the UK, you may contact the Department for International Trade (DIT) for further international trade information such as the imports and exports to/from the UK.

Generally, the DIT not only helps overseas businesses locate in the UK but also help UK businesses expand into overseas markets.

Coronavirus COVID19 outbreak

The World Health Organisation (WHO) declared the coronavirus outbreak a pandemic. For this reason, please follow the UK government guidance for travel advice. If you are in Costa Rica, follow their country’s advice if you are unable to return to the UK.

Other British Embassy worldwide

Click here for a list of British Embassies and High Commissions worldwide.

Generally, diplomatic missions sent to non-commonwealth countries are called the British embassies. Whereas diplomatic missions sent to commonwealth countries are called the British High Commissions. All in all, there are 54 countries in the Commonwealth.

Furthermore, Some countries would have British Consulates in addition to their British Embassy or British High Commission to provide consular services to UK citizens abroad.

%d bloggers like this: