Concise Accountancy

Accountants and Registered Auditors

BrexitCompanies house administration

What is EEA companies?

What is EEA companies ? EEA companies are companies incorporated in the European Economic Area (the EEA) and have an establishment in the UK.

The UK has left the EU on 31 January 2020. Because of this, Companies House in the United Kingdom has implemented changes to the disclosure and filing requirements for the EEA companies. In other words, there are new rules for overseas companies after Brexit.

If your company is incorporated in one of the countries listed below then your company is considered an overseas company after Brexit. To put it simply, if your company has a registered office address in one of the EEA countries then your company is an EEA company under UK company law.

Below is the list of the countries in the EEA.

EEA countries

The EEA countries include the following countries and the European Union (EU) countries.

  • Iceland
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway

EU countries

The EU includes the following countries:

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Republic of Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden

It is also important to take note that some Companies House forms have been discontinued on the exit day. Do not send the discontinued forms to Companies House.

Contact Companies House if you have any questions about your company registered in the EEA and has a legal establishment in the UK.

Share this post


Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: