Countries part of the Common Transit Convention

Broadly, the Common Transit Convention (CTC) is used for the movement of goods between or through common transit countries. You can move your goods quicker because you can skip customs declarations at each border crossing. This would help your goods reach the destination swiftly. Furthermore, you only pay customs duties when your goods reach the final destination. Correspondingly, you can complete some customs procedures away from the border.

However, before you could move your goods between or through the Common Transit countries, you would require an EORI number starts with GB. You may apply for your EORI number online. It takes up to a week.

For this purpose, you would require your company’s UTR number, VAT number (if you have one), your company incorporation date and your SIC code. You may get your incorporation date and SIC code from your confirmation statement already filed with Companies House.

Subsequently, you can register the New Computerised Transit System (NCTS) to make your transit declarations. The NCTS is a European-wide system, based upon electronic declaration and processing, designed to provide better management and control of common transit.

Common Transit countries.

Below is the list of countries part of the Common Transit Convention. In short, all the EU countries are in the CTC.

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czechia
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Iceland
  • Norway
  • Liechtenstein
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • North Macedonia
  • Serbia

Last but not least, If you have any questions about the Common Transit Convention registration and application, you may contact HM Revenue and Customs.

%d bloggers like this: